Sliding to Clinical

When I woke up this morning, the world was one enormous sheet of ice. Very pretty I thought, as I got ready for clinical. Twenty minutes later, as the car slithered and swerved down the third completely un-salted street, I was making futile bargains with the goddess: “I swear, if I could just get to the hospital in one piece, I’ll volunteer at the soup kitchen, I’ll compost this summer, I’ll only buy organic!”

Getting to the hospital, I breathed my thanks and staggered inside. Two people ended up calling off because of the ice. As for me, I spent all day squishing around in my soaking, icy nursey shoes, feeling my toes slowly prune up.

After clinical, I got soaking wet waiting for the shuttle to school and in desperation, went and bought some flannel sweat pants, an oversized tee shirt, and a pair of ridiculous rainbow socks that proclaimed that they were “My Lucky Socks”. None of these items even remotely went together and I got some extremely odd looks from the staff at school.

I’m finally at home now, just said good night to my little sister and her zoo (she has only two boys, but I swear they multiply when I’m not looking) and now have some space in which to breathe.

Today was one of those “shoulda stayed in bed” days

Leave a Reply

